Start now your teak investment like the top 1%


MEET Panama

The crossroads of the world

Panama is the isthmus linking South America with Central and North America. The country, which is bisected by the Panama Canal, is bounded on the north by the Caribbean Sea, on the east by Colombia, on the south by the Pacific Ocean, and on the west by Costa Rica.

The population of Panama according to 2013 estimates is just over 3.6 million, giving the country an overall population density of about 110 persons per sq. mile, with about one-quarter of all Panamanians concentrated in the two metropolitan areas, Panamá and Colón. Panamá is divided into nine provinces—Bocas del Toro, Chiriquí, Coclé, Colón, Darién, Herrera, Los Santos, Panamá, and Veraguas—and one special territory, Comarca de San Blas.

The capital, Panama has approximately 700,000 inhabitants and, is the principal commercial and transportation center; San Miguelito (population totaled with the capital) is a suburb of the capital. Other important cities are Colón, the northern terminus of the Panama Canal, and David, a farming center near the Costa Rican border.